Wonton Ravioli w Sweet Potato

I made these with the intention of making some sort of dumplings. However, they turned out pretty much like ravioli (probably because I cooked them instead of steaming them), which made me rethink the whole thing.

Instead of serving them with the apple sauce, as intended, I tossed them with a little cream and served them sprinkled with pistachio nuts. I guess the combination of wonton, ravioli and sweet potatoes make it a sort of Chinese-Italian-American crossover dish (with Middle Eastern overtones, no less). The cream actually mellowed the rich and sweet filling, and the nuts added a little chewiness so I was very pleased with my sudden improvisation. I actually thought I’d made remarkable discovery in that you could use wonton to make ravioli, until I found this recipe and realized I’m not the only one.

When are you ever?

But I’m still putting it down among great discoveries, because I don’t think making my own pasta is something I’ll ever do. This way, I can still experiment with making my own ravioli.

You need (for about 4 people):

1 package of wonton wrappers

400 g of sweet potatoes, boiled and mashed

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp sugar

2 tsp freshly grated ginger

1/2 tsp dried chili flakes

  1. Mix the spices into the mashed sweet potatoes.
  2. Put about 1 tsp of filling on each wonton wrapper. Put a little water around the edges and fold it over the filling into a little triangle. Make sure you press the edges very firmly or the filling will leak out and it’ll all be a big old mess. You’ll be doing this a lot so you have lots of time to get the hang of it. By the end of the batch, you’ll be a regular wonton master chef!
  3. Cook the little dumplings in boiling water for about 3 minutes. Once they’re done, make sure you separate them, because they’re really sticky (a lot stickier than regular ravioli).

The day after I tried them tossed in a little butter and which, simple as it was, was actually very nice too.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment